My Year in Books! 2014

395003

Slightly late I know but i knew i wanted to do a blog post on the books i read in 2014, and i saw a blog do one and thought, right let me do it now. In 2014 I had wanted to do a reading challenge of reading 20 books, however i only managed 20,  as in September I started University and a lot changed and i was far too busy to really read a book without isolating myself and being anti-social (too many nights out)

However the 14 books I did manage to read were all brilliant and some really changed my perspectives and will stay with me for a long time. I’ll list the books I read and a write a few words about my favourites, and how I also think some deserve a film adaption!

In order I read them:

  • 12 Years A Slave
  • Wuthering Heights
  • The Perks of Being a Wallflower
  • The Sea, the Sea
  • Clark Gable: A Biography
  • Frankenstein
  • Perfume: The Story of a Murderer
  • The Unbearable Being of Lightness
  • The Wasp Factory
  • The Beautiful and the Damned
  • A Fine Balance
  • Animal Farm
  • Sophie’s World
  • Little Boy Lost

So a lot of the books i Read/ and read often are books that have already been adapted into films, i like to know the source material, because i think if the film is good the book must be even better! I always have a fear of buying a book and reading it only to be bored or disappointed. I rarely take risks. I will talk about one book that really had the most impact on me and I think would be an amazing film.

A novel that i had been eyeing up for some time, I finally took the plunge and book the huge book and straight away i was absorbed, i could not put it down. The characters are rich and i was desperate to get to the end. I cried and laughed at the book, something i think it a secret ingredient for any film and book to really be great! I cared for these characters and was worried for their own lives! All the way reading this I thought it would make an amazing epic novel, something like The Kite Runner . This novel has heart, philosophy and and wisdom that would last you a life time. It’s themes and ideas are so real and heartbreaking but the philosophy and wisdom is so on point, i have adapted it to my own life, even though i haven’t experienced the suffering of the characters at all, the novel shows you don’t have to, to take on board the message.  Here is my favourite quote:

Sometimes you have to use your failures as stepping-stones to success. You have to maintain a fine balance between hope and despair

This is a film I would so love to see, it was published in 1995, the same year i was born. I still have hope this novel will get its debut on the screen, it would be stunning, harrowing but so brilliant. (if done right obviously)

Anyway i start the year with a shorter challenge: 10 books. I am currently reading Anna Karenina, which i did start last year but have been so busy, but i will finish it soon..

Leave a Reply

